Abo  ut

Test Field Management for managing complex processes in battery test laboratories


Battery laboratories have to test hundreds or thousands of battery cells, modules and systems simultaneously under a variety of conditions. The tests are carried out using most diverse test methods, procedures, environments and tools. Additionally, the test executions must comply to a large number of industry standards and regulations.


The challenge for development engineers, test field managers and test engineers is to define and schedule the respective test tasks and all associated activities and resources in an increasingly complex network of dependencies. A lack of tool support and missing transparency about resource availability often lead to planning conflicts. Office-based solutions such as Excel very quickly reach their limits in this situation (see here for more information: http://www.peak-solution.de/en/ptms-a-solution-to-the-incrasing.html.


This is where the "Peak Test Management Suite comes into play. The solution offers a variety of powerful functions that are specifically tailored to the requirements of test planning and scheduling in vehicle development.



Different user groups are supported in their daily work


Development Engineers can, for example, systematically plan their test projects and campaigns with the help of Peak Test Management Suite. To do this, they determine which test methods, test series, test procedures and individual tests must be carried out and specify the exact parameters and framework conditions for conducting  the respective test activities. For this purpose, Peak Test Management Suite provides the user with “intelligent” process templates for various test types. This leads to a standardized and efficient description of the respective test context, which is particularly indispensable if companies want to achieve a traceable and verifiable documentation of all their test activities, for example to fulfill proof obligations.


Test Field Managers can use Peak Test Management Suite to allocate and schedule the required test resources for all the incoming test requests. Of course, this takes into account the dependencies between different types of resources needed to perform a test. Resource types can be, for example, test items, test benches, measuring equipment, employees and much more. Complex resource structures, such as the current configuration of a test object or test system, can be taken into account as well.


By the way: Not only test requests have to be scheduled and coordinated with one another in order to achieve a conflict-free allocation of resources. Times for maintenance and calibration of test equipment or the preparation of test items and test stands must be taken into account as well. With the help of the Peak Test Management Suite, this type of activities can also be systematically organized, scheduled and optimized.


After performing a test, Test Engineers can assign the measurements and test results to the respective test activities and create reports. This means that accurate and complete information about all tests carried out and their results is available at any time later.


Extended functionality for better efficiency and utilization of test facilities


In addition to the mentioned basic functions a modern test field management system should cover, Peak Test Management Suite offers much more: customizable validators for input checks, the control of approval processes, the display and automatic resolution of allocation conflicts, a rule engine for automated determination of parameter sets, the monitoring of status information coming from the test field, the generation of notifications for different user groups on the basis of freely definable events (e.g. test start, test interruption, test end), business intelligence functions for the calculation of Key Performance Indicators (KPI´s), etc.


A key feature of the software is its versatility: All data objects and functions of the Peak Test Management Suite can be adapted to the respective, subject-specific requirements of the battery test laboratory through configuration and administration.


This also applies to the deployment and operation of the solution. Depending on the requirements, the software can either be used local as an on-premise solution or global, as a cloud-based application. In both cases, the software relieves test managers in their daily work and improves the utilization, productivity and efficiency of test facilities.


Quick wins with manageable effort


Existing systems, such as project and test item management systems, order and task management systems as well as PLM and ERP systems from various providers, are not replaced by Peak Test Management Suite, but supplemented. Those tools can either access the information and functions of the Peak Test Management Suite via a standardized REST API or they are connected with Peak Test Management Suite via web services.


All this enables companies to quickly implement a ready-to-use application for the conflict-free planning and scheduling of battery tests with manageable effort. The practice at many user companies of Peak Test Management Suite has shown that important “quick wins” can be accomplished within a short time of period. The reason is obvious: Many years of effort and experience from various customer projects have been incorporated into the development of Peak Test Management Suite since 2010. This led to constant functional and technological enhancements, improvements in usability as well as performance and reliability optimizations. Today, all users of Peak Test Management Suite benefit from this right from the start.

Abo  ut

Test Field Management zur Verwaltung komplexer Prozesse in Batterietestlaboren


Batterielabore müssen hunderte oder tausende Batteriezellen, -module und -systeme gleichzeitig unter verschiedensten Bedingungen testen. Die Tests werden mit den unterschiedlichsten Testmethoden, -verfahren, -umgebungen und -werkzeugen durchgeführt. Darüber hinaus müssen die Testausführungen einer Vielzahl von Industriestandards und Vorschriften entsprechen. Die Herausforderung für Entwicklungsingenieure, Testfeldleiter und Testingenieure besteht darin, die jeweiligen Testaufgaben und alle damit verbundenen Aktivitäten und Ressourcen in einem immer komplexer werdenden Geflecht von Abhängigkeiten zu definieren und zu terminieren. Fehlende Toolunterstützung und fehlende Transparenz über die Ressourcenverfügbarkeit führen oft zu Planungskonflikten. Office-basierte Lösungen wie Excel stoßen in dieser Situation sehr schnell an ihre Grenzen (weitere Informationen siehe hier:  http://www.peak-solution.de/de/ptms-eine-loesung-fuer-das-planungsproblem.html.


Hier kommt die „Peak Test Management Suite“ ins Spiel. Die Lösung bietet eine Vielzahl leistungsstarker Funktionen, die speziell auf die Anforderungen der Testplanung und -terminierung in der Fahrzeugentwicklung zugeschnitten sind.



Unterschiedliche Nutzergruppen werden bei ihrer täglichen Arbeit unterstützt


Entwicklungsingenieure können beispielsweise ihre Testprojekte und -kampagnen mit Hilfe der Peak Test Management Suite systematisch planen. Dazu legen sie fest, welche Testmethoden, Testreihen, Testverfahren und Einzeltests durchgeführt werden müssen und legen die genauen Parameter und Rahmenbedingungen für die Durchführung der jeweiligen Testaktivitäten fest. Dazu stellt die Peak Test Management Suite dem Anwender „intelligente“ Prozessvorlagen für verschiedene Testarten zur Verfügung. Dies führt zu einer standardisierten und effizienten Beschreibung des jeweiligen Testkontextes, die insbesondere dann unverzichtbar ist, wenn Unternehmen eine nachvollziehbare und überprüfbare Dokumentation all ihrer Testaktivitäten erreichen wollen, um beispielsweise Nachweispflichten zu erfüllen.


Testfeldmanager können die Peak Test Management Suite verwenden, um die erforderlichen Testressourcen für alle eingehenden Testanforderungen zuzuweisen und zu planen. Dabei werden natürlich die Abhängigkeiten zwischen verschiedenen Arten von Ressourcen berücksichtigt, die zur Durchführung eines Tests benötigt werden. Ressourcentypen können beispielsweise Prüflinge, Prüfstände, Messmittel, Mitarbeiter und vieles mehr sein. Auch komplexe Ressourcenstrukturen, wie die aktuelle Konfiguration eines Testobjekts oder Testsystems, können berücksichtigt werden.


Übrigens: Nicht nur Testanfragen müssen terminiert und aufeinander abgestimmt werden, um eine konfliktfreie Ressourcenallokation zu erreichen. Auch Zeiten für die Wartung und Kalibrierung von Prüfmitteln oder die Vorbereitung von Prüflingen und Prüfständen müssen berücksichtigt werden. Mit Hilfe der Peak Test Management Suite lassen sich auch solche Aktivitäten systematisch organisieren, terminieren und optimieren.


Nach der Durchführung eines Tests können Testingenieure die Messungen und Testergebnisse den jeweiligen Testaktivitäten zuordnen und Berichte erstellen. So stehen später jederzeit genaue und vollständige Informationen über alle durchgeführten Tests und deren Ergebnisse zur Verfügung.


Erweiterte Funktionalität für bessere Effizienz und Auslastung von Prüfeinrichtungen


Neben den genannten Grundfunktionen, die ein modernes Testfeld-Management-System abdecken sollte, bietet die Peak Test Management Suite noch viel mehr: anpassbare Validatoren für Eingabeprüfungen, die Steuerung von Freigabeprozessen, die Anzeige und automatische Auflösung von Zuordnungskonflikten, eine Rule Engine für automatisierte Bestimmung von Parametersätzen, Überwachung von Statusinformationen aus dem Testfeld, Generierung von Benachrichtigungen für unterschiedliche Benutzergruppen auf Basis frei definierbarer Ereignisse (z. B. Teststart, Testunterbrechung, Testende), Business-Intelligence-Funktionen zur Berechnung von Key Performance Indicators (KPI´s) etc.


Ein wesentliches Merkmal der Software ist ihre Vielseitigkeit: Alle Datenobjekte und Funktionen der Peak Test Management Suite lassen sich durch Konfiguration und Administration an die jeweiligen, fachspezifischen Anforderungen des Batterietestlabors anpassen.


Dies gilt auch für die Bereitstellung und den Betrieb der Lösung. Je nach Anforderung kann die Software entweder lokal als On-Premise-Lösung oder global als cloudbasierte Anwendung eingesetzt werden. In beiden Fällen entlastet die Software Testmanager bei ihrer täglichen Arbeit und verbessert die Auslastung, Produktivität und Effizienz von Testeinrichtungen.


Schnelle Erfolge mit überschaubarem Aufwand


Bestehende Systeme, wie Projekt- und Prüfaufgabenverwaltungssysteme, Auftrags- und Aufgabenverwaltungssysteme sowie PLM- und ERP-Systeme verschiedener Anbieter werden durch die Peak Test Management Suite nicht ersetzt, sondern ergänzt. Diese Tools können entweder über eine standardisierte REST-API auf die Informationen und Funktionen der Peak Test Management Suite zugreifen oder sie sind über Webservices mit der Peak Test Management Suite verbunden.


All dies ermöglicht es Unternehmen, mit überschaubarem Aufwand schnell eine einsatzbereite Anwendung zur konfliktfreien Planung und Terminierung von Batterietests zu implementieren. Die Praxis vieler Anwenderunternehmen der Peak Test Management Suite hat gezeigt, dass innerhalb kurzer Zeit wichtige „Quick Wins“ erzielt werden können. Der Grund liegt auf der Hand: In die Entwicklung der Peak Test Management Suite sind seit 2010 langjährige Bemühungen und Erfahrungen aus diversen Kundenprojekten eingeflossen. Dies führte zu ständigen funktionalen und technologischen Erweiterungen, Verbesserungen der Usability sowie Performance- und Zuverlässigkeitsoptimierungen. Davon profitieren heute alle Anwender der Peak Test Management Suite von Anfang an.